Odwalla bars filling the “thank you” bags of thousands of carbohydrate-deficient athletes.

But, among the day’s festivities, the real winners may not have been the Olympic-qualifying finalists—but the dogs that welcomed them when the crossed the finish line.

Checkout some of our favorite celebratory wags from Sunday’s race below:

running in SF is full of hills and bridges, so proud of all the runners that crushed #sfmarathon yesterday. loved getting my step count in jumping and cheering. #thesweatlifesf #morethanmiles

Instagram post by Mao * Jul 24, 2017 at 4:08pm UTC

Congrats to everyone who ran the SF Marathon yesterday, especially my fur mom who ran her first ever half marathon! Happy Medal Monday! #sfmarathon #marathon #halfmarathon #sanfrancisco #sf #running #training #run #proud #medal #finisher

Wagging my tail so hard for this weekends Marathon adventures! It’s exhausting searching a sea of runners for Mom💕💪 #caliredwood #tsfm2017 #sfmarathon

When your bff meets you at the finish line😄(matt was there too😉). Had a great time running the SF half this morning, though somehow those hills seemed much bigger than last year🤔The winds were whipping across the bridge and the rolling hills kinda kicked my butt, but I love a good challenge. Congrats to all my fellow runners who took on the crazy streets of San Francisco today!

A lot of times I say things that I want to do, but I often don’t end up doing whatever it might be. At the beginning of this year I wanted to accomplish two goals, one of which is to complete my very first marathon. I chickened out the first time I was supposed to run it because I was scared I wouldn’t be able to do it or end up hurting myself. When looking back on it now, I definitely should’ve just went through with it but oh well. I think I’m quite insane for doing it after moving for two days and sleeping for a few hours before, but I’m proud to say that I was able to finally do what I what I said I’d do and run freaking 26.2 miles :3 . . . . . #goalachieved #sfmarathon #notasbadasIthought #iwannarunanotherone #pug #pugsnotdrugs #helooksworriedforme #parentslooklosttoo #thankseveryone #galaxyhair #timetostopbeinglazyaf #latergram

The Real Winner of the SF Marathon Were the Dogs That Showed up to Congratulate Their Owners - 36The Real Winner of the SF Marathon Were the Dogs That Showed up to Congratulate Their Owners - 96The Real Winner of the SF Marathon Were the Dogs That Showed up to Congratulate Their Owners - 72The Real Winner of the SF Marathon Were the Dogs That Showed up to Congratulate Their Owners - 13The Real Winner of the SF Marathon Were the Dogs That Showed up to Congratulate Their Owners - 49The Real Winner of the SF Marathon Were the Dogs That Showed up to Congratulate Their Owners - 97


title: “The Real Winner Of The Sf Marathon Were The Dogs That Showed Up To Congratulate Their Owners” ShowToc: true date: “2023-01-05” author: “Eldon Anderson”


Odwalla bars filling the “thank you” bags of thousands of carbohydrate-deficient athletes.

But, among the day’s festivities, the real winners may not have been the Olympic-qualifying finalists—but the dogs that welcomed them when the crossed the finish line.

Checkout some of our favorite celebratory wags from Sunday’s race below:

running in SF is full of hills and bridges, so proud of all the runners that crushed #sfmarathon yesterday. loved getting my step count in jumping and cheering. #thesweatlifesf #morethanmiles

Instagram post by Mao * Jul 24, 2017 at 4:08pm UTC

Congrats to everyone who ran the SF Marathon yesterday, especially my fur mom who ran her first ever half marathon! Happy Medal Monday! #sfmarathon #marathon #halfmarathon #sanfrancisco #sf #running #training #run #proud #medal #finisher

Wagging my tail so hard for this weekends Marathon adventures! It’s exhausting searching a sea of runners for Mom💕💪 #caliredwood #tsfm2017 #sfmarathon

When your bff meets you at the finish line😄(matt was there too😉). Had a great time running the SF half this morning, though somehow those hills seemed much bigger than last year🤔The winds were whipping across the bridge and the rolling hills kinda kicked my butt, but I love a good challenge. Congrats to all my fellow runners who took on the crazy streets of San Francisco today!

A lot of times I say things that I want to do, but I often don’t end up doing whatever it might be. At the beginning of this year I wanted to accomplish two goals, one of which is to complete my very first marathon. I chickened out the first time I was supposed to run it because I was scared I wouldn’t be able to do it or end up hurting myself. When looking back on it now, I definitely should’ve just went through with it but oh well. I think I’m quite insane for doing it after moving for two days and sleeping for a few hours before, but I’m proud to say that I was able to finally do what I what I said I’d do and run freaking 26.2 miles :3 . . . . . #goalachieved #sfmarathon #notasbadasIthought #iwannarunanotherone #pug #pugsnotdrugs #helooksworriedforme #parentslooklosttoo #thankseveryone #galaxyhair #timetostopbeinglazyaf #latergram

The Real Winner of the SF Marathon Were the Dogs That Showed up to Congratulate Their Owners - 23The Real Winner of the SF Marathon Were the Dogs That Showed up to Congratulate Their Owners - 15The Real Winner of the SF Marathon Were the Dogs That Showed up to Congratulate Their Owners - 65The Real Winner of the SF Marathon Were the Dogs That Showed up to Congratulate Their Owners - 58The Real Winner of the SF Marathon Were the Dogs That Showed up to Congratulate Their Owners - 86The Real Winner of the SF Marathon Were the Dogs That Showed up to Congratulate Their Owners - 43